and 2 months later…

I realize it’s been quite some time since I’ve posted ANYTHING but I’ll have you know that it has been on my to do list as something to get done on Monday, but then it moves to Tuesday, Thursday, and so on.  That is how two months goes by.

Anywho, here are some updates…

1) MUSICAL CATS Ben, Alex (Ben’s Brother) and I gathered together a skilled little crew of people, some actors, and of course the feral cat creatures.   Then we shot our music video which is complete.  But for now, I’m only going to give you a peek.

2) HONK! HONK! I want everyone to experience this Somerville/Cambridge festival at least once in their lifetime.  HONK! Fest is the BESTfest in my eyes because it brings in a ton of outrageously fun, unique, talented, grungy, insane, old, young, new, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera bands from all over the world and they play music that you just can’t stand still to.  It was actually quite painful for me to film, as all I wanted to do was shake it with my fellow crowd members who were packed in so tight that I know I felt multiple breaths on my neck (it’s okay, I did not mind at all).  I’m about to start editing the 50 gigs of footage that I shot and hope to have it up here quite soon.  Don’t worry, I’ll spare you the shaky shots from those moments I couldn’t help myself and might have done a little two-step. MIGHT have.

It mostly occurs in Davis Square, but on the last day of the weekend festival they parade from Davis to Harvard Square with a bunch of other activist organizations.  Oh, did I mention that all of these brassy bands are playing for a purpose?  How much cooler could this thing get?  Really, every town should have one.  It’d be worth it to go to the website’s list of bands, and then check out some of the bands’ websites.  A lot of them are from the New England area and play right around Boston frequently.

PLEASE do these things for me and for yourself: Go to the HONK! website and find out what you missed and then start counting down for next year’s.  Then, I’d like you to listen (and download) some of What Cheer? Brigade‘s music, one of the bands I fell in love with at my first HONK! fest experience.  Lastly, take a look at the pictures that I hastily shift+command+foured from a couple quicktimes and then check back in a week for a video or two because I ought to have those puppies good and done by then.  If you’re wondering what kind of music this is, I can’t even explain it.  After listening to What Cheer? Brigade (if you didn’t follow my directions immediately after I asked), toss out a few adjectives or define it for me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3) octoBEERfest Yes, there were more than 8 beers at this one…and it was held in September.  The Low Sparks (my RiverGods friend Kevin’s band) played for all the live long day for all the blissful drunkies at the Sam Adams Octoberfest/Beer Summit at the Smith and Wollensky castle downtown.  I FINALLY got my act together and finished editing a little video for them right in the nick of time (before October comes to an end).  Check it out here…and if you can see yourself in dancing with a big ol’ Sam Adams in your hand slow motion style, it isn’t too late.  These Beer Summits are reoccurring, so find out when the next one is, throw on your lederhosen, and get HOSED by the LITER. Ha!

It’s getting to be that time of night that I regret writing or talking to anyone because I usually end up a tad embarrassed when I read what I wrote the next morning.  That sentence is only the start of it.  Don’t give up on me yet though, I’ll write again tomorrow with breaking news of two NEW projects that I’m working on, both having to do with nature.  There will be no more of this 2 month neglection period.  Ah, and now she’s making up words.

Leave a Reply

